LG PuriCare 50-Pint Dehumidifier Review: Certified, With a Daily Hour Off
By Ingrid Tamsett · Updated October 2026
Independent editorial review. We never accept payment for coverage, though we may earn a commission if you purchase through our links.
← 16.7 in wide (LG: 16.73"W x 23.86"H x 11"D) →Spec sheet
| Capacity (DOE 65°F / 60% RH, ENERGY STAR) | 49.81 pints/day |
| Efficiency (IEF) | 2.01 L/kWh; 524 kWh/yr (ENERGY STAR) |
| Operating range (manual) | 38-90°F; water freezes at 34°F or less |
| Bucket (Amazon listing) | 14.3 pints |
| Drainage (manual) | 14.5 mm hose or garden hose via adapter; outlet 4 in below; no pump |
| Continuous-run limit (manual) | Stops for 1 hour after 23 hours of continuous operation |
| Humidity setting (manual) | 30-70% in 5% steps, Manual mode |
| Noise (LG product page) | 40 dB advertised; fan speed not stated |
| Warranty (manual) | 1 year, internal/functional parts; in-home service where available |
| Owner-reported failure (older LG models) | Iced coils; stopped collecting water at 2-6 years |
Verdict
Owner reports come from r/HomeImprovement, r/appliancerepair, r/Appliances and r/BuyItForLife. None concerns the DT501, which went on sale in September 2026; they cover older LG PuriCare and LHD dehumidifiers. Several owners report lives of 6 to 13 years, and one praises LG's inverter units for low running cost. The failures are the ones every brand shows: coils icing over and units that stop collecting water, at two to six years in the reports here. Most come from repair threads, so they skew toward problems.
Read full take ↓LG's PuriCare Sonoran 50-Pint Smart Dehumidifier (DT501BKR0) is a solid current-test 50 with two quirks you should know before you put it in a basement that runs all summer. ENERGY STAR certifies it at 49.81 pints a day under the DOE test (65°F and 60% relative humidity) with an IEF of 2.01 liters per kWh, level with the Midea Cube 50, Frigidaire's FHDD5034Y1 and the Hisense lift-up. Its manual rates it to 38°F, and its warranty includes in-home service where LG can provide it.
The quirks: the bucket holds only 14.3 pints, so you'll want the drain hose from day one, and after 23 hours of nonstop running the unit shuts itself down for an hour to protect itself. Neither is a defect. Both cost you water removal in exactly the soggy basement you bought a 50 for.
We'd buy it for a basement with a floor drain where you'll use the ThinQ app, priced close to the Cube. It went on sale in September 2026, so what we know about reliability comes from older LG dehumidifiers, and that record is mixed.
What we like
- A real 50 on the current test: ENERGY STAR lists 49.81 pints a day at 65°F and 60% RH and an IEF of 2.01, the same efficiency as every other current 50 we review.
- A 38°F floor: the manual's operating range is 38°F to 90°F, three degrees lower than the Cube or the Frigidaire.
- Two drain options in the box: a 14.5 mm hose for continuous drainage, plus an adapter that takes a standard garden hose.
- In-home warranty service: LG's one-year warranty says it will repair or replace the unit and provide in-home service where available. Midea and Frigidaire also give one year.
- Wi-Fi if you want it: ThinQ app control on 2.4 GHz networks, with the modes, timer and humidity setting on the front panel too.
What we'd change
- The smallest bucket here: 14.3 pints, a full tank about every 7 hours at the rated pace.
- The 23-hour timeout: after 23 hours of continuous operation it stops for an hour, so it never runs a full day.
- A Boost-mode headline: LG's own footnote says its "about 50 pints" came from a test in Boost mode, a setting that runs the fan on high and drops back to Auto after an hour.
- No pump: a basement without a drain below the unit needs a separate condensate pump.
- A vague noise claim: LG advertises 40 dB without saying at which fan speed; the Amazon listing ties quiet running to the low fan setting.
The numbers behind the 50
ENERGY STAR's 49.81 pints a day is the certified figure, measured at 65°F and 60% RH, the condition DOE set for portables in June 2019. It's a true current-test 50. By ENERGY STAR's rough conversion, a unit still quoting 50 pints at the old 80°F test lands near 30 on today's. LG's product page adds a footnote: its "about 50 pints" came from a third-party test in Boost mode. The manual says Boost runs the fan only on high and returns to Auto after an hour. LG doesn't publish capacity at lower fan speeds. Expect the quiet low setting to pull less water than the headline.
Now the 23-hour rule. The manual's Safety Standby function stops the unit after 23 hours of continuous operation: the fan runs 30 minutes to cool the internals, then everything stops for 30 more, then it restarts. In a basement damp enough to keep it running nonstop, that caps a day at 23 hours of drying, about 49.81 x 23 / 24 = 47.7 pints at the rated pace. A 4% haircut won't sink it. It does mean the LG can't match a rival that never takes a break, and the red light that comes on for an hour each day is normal.
The electricity math is short. 49.81 pints is about 23.6 liters; at 2.01 liters per kWh, a full day at the rated pace uses roughly 11.7 kWh, and ENERGY STAR puts its annual use at 524 kWh. Multiply by your own electric rate. The manual expects the room to warm by 2 or 3 degrees while it runs.
The 38°F rating marks where it quits. The manual says water freezes inside at 34°F or less and that dehumidification drops when the room is cold or dry. It defrosts automatically (dF on the display), and LG's page says defrost keeps it working down to 38°F. For a crawl space that nears freezing, a crawl space unit like the AlorAir Sentinel HD55S, rated to 33.8°F, is the right tool.
Bucket, hose and setup
Run it on a hose. A 14.3-pint bucket at 49.81 pints a day fills in about 6.9 hours, three or four trips a day in a wet month. The Frigidaire FHDD5034Y1 holds 21.6 pints, the Hisense lift-up 18, and Midea's listing claims about 4.2 gallons for the Cube 50. When the bucket fills, the LG stops, runs the fan five more minutes to clear the coil, then lights the bucket indicator and beeps. The listing says side access lets you lift and empty the bucket one-handed.
The hose setup, per the manual: pull the bucket, open the drain cap on the back, and push the included 14.5 mm hose into the drain hole, or screw in the included adapter and attach a standard garden hose. The bucket has to go back in or the unit won't run. The hose outlet must sit at least 4 inches below the connection, with no bends and its end out of the water. That's a gravity drain, so the floor drain, sump or utility sink has to be lower than the back of the unit. If it isn't, you need a condensate pump such as the Little Giant VCMA-15ULS, which Little Giant wants on its own circuit and whose overflow switch only protects anything once it's wired to an alarm or shutoff.
Placement is simple. Keep it at least 12 inches from walls, on a 120-volt outlet. The unit weighs about 43 pounds per LG and Amazon, with wheels; LG says to remove the bucket before moving it and to lift it by the handle and the top of the bucket enclosure. It uses R32, a flammable refrigerant, and the manual says any service by unauthorized servicers voids all warranties, so leave the sealed system alone.
Clean the pre-filter monthly and the bucket about weekly, per the manual. Don't try to clean the coil yourself; LG says not to. Use the ThinQ app if you like, but put a separate hygrometer across the room as well. The manual says the displayed humidity may differ from actual humidity and from other hygrometers, and it only reads the air around the unit.
Modes and settings
Mode | Humidity | Fan | Use it for |
|---|---|---|---|
Manual | Set 30-70% in 5% steps (starts at 50%) | Auto, Low, Medium or High | A basement: set 45-50% and leave it |
Auto | Chosen by the unit | Auto, Low, Medium or High | Living areas where you just want it comfortable |
Cont. | Not adjustable; runs regardless of humidity | Low only | Drying a space hard, under a separate humidity control |
Boost | Not adjustable | High only; returns to Auto after an hour | A quick burst after a spill or a shower |
Set Manual at 45-50% for a basement. EPA's guidance is to keep indoor humidity below 60%, ideally 30-50%. The display reads Lo below 30% and Hi above 70%, so you won't see the exact number in a very damp space on day one. The unit remembers its last mode after a power cut.
Who it's for
The good fit is a finished or unfinished basement with a floor drain or sump below the unit, damp from spring through fall, with winter lows that stay above the high 30s. It also suits a large room or laundry area where you want app control.
Look elsewhere if:
- There is no drain below the unit: the Hisense 50-Pint Lift-Up with Built-In Pump has a pump and the same 38°F floor, though its warranty is unclear. Or add a condensate pump.
- You want the cheapest certified 50: the Midea Cube 50 certifies 49.67 pints a day, holds far more water and listed for less when we checked.
- You want published decibels by fan speed: the Frigidaire FHDD5034Y1 lists 47, 49 and 51 dBA.
- The space nears freezing: buy a crawl space unit such as the AlorAir Sentinel HD55S.
What older LG dehumidifiers tell us
The DT501 went on the market in September 2026, so nobody has run one for long. LG's earlier PuriCare and LHD models do have a record, and it reads two ways.
The good side is lifespan. Older LGs turn up in owner reports at 6 and 7 years, close to 10, and in one case 13, and one owner says LG's inverter units are quiet and cheap to run. We can't tell you whether the DT501 uses an inverter compressor; LG's Amazon listing calls it a smart compressor.
The bad side is the failure every brand shares: coils that ice over and units that stop collecting water. A roughly three-year-old UD501KOJ5 grew a block of ice on the bottom of its coil; a UD701KOG3 at five or six years stopped filling its tank; a two-year-old LG from Home Depot ran but pulled no water. Icing in a warm room or a unit that blows air and collects nothing often points to a refrigerant or airflow problem, and on an R32 machine that's a job for warranty service. One owner who tried to fix a four-year-old LG couldn't find a humidity sensor anywhere.
Set expectations on speed, too. One owner's 50-pint LG took a 650-square-foot basement down to 44% in 12 hours and still felt it was underperforming. That's a reasonable result for a space already in the mid-50s, and it lines up with what the manual says: less water comes out when the air is already fairly dry.
The warranty is one year from purchase or delivery and covers internal and functional parts. LG repairs or replaces at its option and offers in-home service where available; it covers only the original purchaser of a unit bought and used in the US. Register it and keep the receipt.
How it compares
All capacities are ENERGY STAR certifications at the current 65°F DOE test.
Model | Capacity / IEF | Lowest temp | Bucket | Drain | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
LG DT501BKR0 | 49.81 pints/day / 2.01 | 38°F | 14.3 pints | Gravity hose or garden hose; no pump | 1 year, in-home service where available |
Midea Cube 50 | 49.67 / 2.01 | 41°F | About 4.2 gal claimed (listing) | Gravity hose; pump on separate model | 1 year |
Frigidaire FHDD5034Y1 | 49.71 / 2.01 | 41°F | 2.7 gal (21.6 pints) | Gravity hose; no pump | 1 year |
Hisense ALDH50KP26 | 49.89 / 2.01 | 38°F | 18 pints (listing) | Built-in pump; no gravity drain in manual | Not stated for this model |
Midea Cube 50: the value pick. Same certified capacity and efficiency, far more bucket, a gravity hose in the box and a lower price when we checked. Its weak spot is a humidity display that can read far off on a new unit, and it stops at 41°F. If you won't use the app and have a drain, buy the Cube.
Frigidaire FHDD5034Y1: an equal on capacity, with published noise figures and a bigger bucket, but a 41°F floor and Frigidaire's own patchy longevity record. It listed above the LG when we checked.
Hisense ALDH50KP26: the pump alternative, with the same 38°F floor and a top-lift bucket. We couldn't find a written warranty for it, and its manual documents no gravity drain. For a basement with no drain below the unit, it's the simpler setup.
LG DT501BWR0: the same machine in white, listed under the same ENERGY STAR record. Amazon sells it as B0H42G5D34; buy whichever color is cheaper the day you shop.
Our call
Buy the LG for a basement with a drain below the unit, when its price is close to the Cube's and you'll use the app or want in-home warranty service. It's a certified 50 that keeps working down to 38°F. Hook up the hose on day one, set Manual at 45-50%, and don't worry when the red standby light comes on after 23 hours of running. Without a drain, look at the Hisense pump model or budget for a condensate pump.
Score breakdown
ENERGY STAR certifies 49.81 pints a day at the 65°F DOE test with an IEF of 2.01, level with the Cube, Frigidaire and Hisense, and the manual rates it down to 38°F. We take points for the 14.3-pint bucket, the 23-hour Safety Standby that caps a nonstop day at about 47.7 pints, a 50-pint headline LG footnotes as a Boost-mode result, and no pump.
The DT501 is too new to have a record. Older LG dehumidifiers show up in owner reports at 6, 7, close to 10 and 13 years, but also with iced coils and units that stopped collecting water at two to six years. LG's one-year warranty covers internal and functional parts with in-home service where available, which beats a mail-in return.
It listed below the Frigidaire FHDD5034Y1 and the Hisense pump model but above the Midea Cube 50 when we checked, and the white DT501BWR0 was cheaper still. You pay a little over the Cube for the 38°F floor, the app and in-home service, and you give up a lot of bucket.
LG PuriCare 50-Pint Dehumidifier on Amazon.
The Evidence Behind Our Verdict
Owner reports come from r/HomeImprovement, r/appliancerepair, r/Appliances and r/BuyItForLife. None concerns the DT501, which went on sale in September 2026; they cover older LG PuriCare and LHD dehumidifiers. Several owners report lives of 6 to 13 years, and one praises LG's inverter units for low running cost.
The failures are the ones every brand shows: coils icing over and units that stop collecting water, at two to six years in the reports here. Most come from repair threads, so they skew toward problems.
Our rating above is our own editorial call. What follows is the field evidence we weighed to reach it: first-hand reports from owners on Reddit and independent HVAC and DIY forums, which we lean on more than manufacturer-influenced published reviews because unsponsored owners tend to be the more candid signal.
What Reddit Is Saying
“An inverter dehumidifier (like ones made by LG) don’t empty your wallet with energy usage and are quiet AF, just sound like running an air purifier. I have two that are scheduled to run alternately 16 hours a day from 9am to 5pm and 9pm to 5am— my energy bill only rose by $9 set at 55% humidity”
“Keep in mind the people who have one that's working fine won't be posting there. Come to think of it, I'm one of those people. I bought an LG dehumidifier years ago and it has worked fine for me, but I don't use it regularly and haven't fired it up lately.”
“LG PuriCare Dehumidifer started not working as well and eventually leaking somewhere onto floor. Opened it up hoping there was a clog, but that was not the case. Thought maybe a cleaning might help but noticed rust on the bottom part. Fixable/worth fixing? Lasted me about 7 years, after staying away from Fridgaire/keystone on amazon that only lasted me a year.”
“More than a decade ago I got a free LG that lasted about 6 years(it was used), then I got another very similar LG after that, that lasted about 4 years. I tried to fix it, but the humidity sensor wasn't available anywhere(pandemic supply chain maybe).”
“I changed the capacitor and it didn't work. I get no power at all. My feeling is the logic on the board has failed. A replacement module is $45 or so, and this is a 13 year old unit.”
“So I returned it and bought an expensive 50 pint LG unit from Home Depot. Even with the better dehumidifier it's only getting it down to 44% after 12 hours.”
“My LG Puricare ud501koj5 dehumidifier is only around 3 years old. I’ve discovered it runs a lot lately. The unit barely ever shuts off. Upon inspection I noticed the heat exchanger coils had a solid block of ice at only about the bottom 5 inches of the coils.”
“dehumidifier of 5-6 years no longer filling up the tank despite high humid levels and i noticed the coils behind the filter were freezing over when the compressor would kick in.”
“I bought an LG dehumidifier two years ago at Home Depot. It ran fine all this time, but this past winter I stopped getting water in the bucket. It still comes on, so it's detecting the relative humidity fine, but it's just not pulling any water anymore.”
Frequently asked questions
Is the LG PuriCare 50-Pint Dehumidifier worth it?
It listed below the Frigidaire FHDD5034Y1 and the Hisense pump model but above the Midea Cube 50 when we checked, and the white DT501BWR0 was cheaper still. You pay a little over the Cube for the 38°F floor, the app and in-home service, and you give up a lot of bucket.
How reliable is the LG PuriCare 50-Pint Dehumidifier?
The DT501 is too new to have a record. Older LG dehumidifiers show up in owner reports at 6, 7, close to 10 and 13 years, but also with iced coils and units that stopped collecting water at two to six years. LG's one-year warranty covers internal and functional parts with in-home service where available, which beats a mail-in return.
How well does the LG PuriCare 50-Pint Dehumidifier perform?
01, level with the Cube, Frigidaire and Hisense, and the manual rates it down to 38°F. 7 pints, a 50-pint headline LG footnotes as a Boost-mode result, and no pump.
What do real owners say about the LG PuriCare 50-Pint Dehumidifier?
Owner reports come from r/HomeImprovement, r/appliancerepair, r/Appliances and r/BuyItForLife. None concerns the DT501, which went on sale in September 2026; they cover older LG PuriCare and LHD dehumidifiers. Several owners report lives of 6 to 13 years, and one praises LG's inverter units for low running cost.
Options Worth Checking Out

Midea Cube 50 Pint Dehumidifier (MAD50S1QWT-A)
The value pick for a basement with a drain: 49.67 pints/day at 65°F, the same 2.01 IEF, a much bigger bucket and a gravity hose in the box. It stops at 41°F, and its humidity display needs checking against a hygrometer.
Read our full review: we scored it 7.0/10

Frigidaire 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Wi-Fi (FHDD5034Y1)
For a living space where published noise numbers matter: 49.71 pints/day, 2.01 IEF, 47-51 dBA by fan speed and a 2.7-gallon bucket. No pump and a 41°F floor, so it needs a drain below it; warranty is one year, parts and labor.
Read our full review: we scored it 6.4/10

Hisense 50-Pint Lift-Up Dehumidifier with Built-In Pump (ALDH50KP26)
When there is no drain below the unit: a built-in pump, 49.89 pints/day at 65°F and the same 38°F floor as the LG. Its manual shows no gravity drain or pump lift, and we found no written warranty for this model.
Read our full review: we scored it 6.3/10
You Might Also Need
Accessories worth grabbing alongside your purchase

Little Giant VCMA-15ULS Condensate Pump
Lifts the LG's hose water to a sink when the drain is higher than the unit: 50 GPH at 5 ft, 25 at 10 ft. Little Giant wants it on its own circuit, and its overflow switch needs an alarm or shutoff wired to it.
Read our full review: we scored it 7.3/10
More LG Reviews
See all →How Does It Compare?
Side-by-side breakdowns featuring this product









