Midea EasyCool 6,000 BTU Window AC Review: Budget Box, Not the Midea U
By Teo Varnadoe · Updated October 2026
Independent editorial review. We never accept payment for coverage, though we may earn a commission if you purchase through our links.
← 15.98 in wide x 12 in high (Amazon item data) →Spec sheet
| Cooling / room (Midea) | 6,000 BTU; 250 sq ft |
| CEER (EnergyGuide) | 11.0; $53 a year; not ENERGY STAR |
| DOE minimum, 6,000-7,900 BTU | 11.0 until May 26, 2026; 13.7 for units made from then |
| Controls (manual) | Electronic + remote, 3 speeds, Cool/Dry/Fan/Auto, sleep, timer, auto restart |
| Noise / airflow (listing) | 52 dB on low; 168.82 CFM; no other figures |
| Window fit | 23-36 in wide; 14 in opening (listing), 13 in (manual) |
| Cooling range (manual) | 64-109°F outdoors, 62-90°F indoors |
| Warranty | 1 yr parts and labor (listing); improper installation excluded (manual) |
| Recall status | Not a Midea U; not on the 2025 CPSC recall |
Verdict
Owner reports come from r/AirConditioners, plus one DIY Solar Forum owner who names the MAW06R1CWT and runs it off-grid for its auto restart (described in the text). Discussion under this exact model number is thin. One Reddit owner of the MAW06R1YWT-S sibling saw it stop cycling off after day one. Owners of other Midea box units, models not stated, also weigh in on the U recall.
Read full take ↓The Midea 6,000 BTU EasyCool Window Air Conditioner (MAW06R1CWT) is a fine budget unit for a 150 to 250 square foot bedroom, and we'd buy it if it's cheaper than the Frigidaire FHWC063TC1 the day you shop. On paper the two are near twins: CEER 11.0, $53 a year on the EnergyGuide label, a remote, three speeds and auto restart. The Frigidaire publishes more of its specs and lists more airflow, so it gets the nod when the prices match.
Get one thing straight before you buy: this is not a Midea U. It is a conventional box unit that sits in the window, with no inverter and no U-shaped notch for the sash. The June 2025 recall covers 8,000 to 12,000 BTU Midea U and U+ models, not the EasyCool line. The flip side is that it has none of the U's quiet; the compressor is in the box with you and cycles fully on and off.
Its CEER of 11.0 met DOE's minimum for this size until May 26, 2026. Units manufactured from that date need 13.7, which means about 20% less power for the same cooling (11.0 ÷ 13.7 = 0.80). Midea has already certified newer, more efficient small window units, but at this price the EasyCool is still what's on the shelf.
Why people buy it
- Price and availability: Amazon sold it directly when we checked in October 2026, at the low end of what a 6,000 BTU unit with a remote costs.
- Full electronic controls: a digital thermostat from 62 to 86°F, a remote, Cool, Dry, Fan and Auto modes, sleep mode, a 24-hour timer and a filter reminder after 250 hours.
- Auto restart: the manual says it restarts with its previous settings when power returns, which matters on a generator, a solar inverter or a flaky grid.
- A known size: about 16 inches wide and 12 inches tall on Amazon's data, and 38.2 pounds there too.
Where it falls short
- Thin specs: Midea's listing gives 52 dB on low and nothing for high, and we couldn't find a published amp or watt rating. Read the nameplate before you plan the circuit.
- Less airflow on paper: the listing says 168.82 CFM. Frigidaire lists 265 CFM on high for its 6,000.
- Efficiency: CEER 11.0, not ENERGY STAR, and below the 13.7 now required for new units this size.
- A muddled window spec: the Amazon listing asks for a 14 inch opening; Midea's manual table says 13 inches for 5,000 and 6,000 BTU units. Measure for 14.
- No newer model page: Midea's own store no longer lists it, though the support page still carries the manual.
Who it fits
ENERGY STAR's chart puts 150 to 250 square feet at 6,000 BTU, assuming an 8 foot ceiling, and Midea rates this unit for 250. That leaves no margin at the top: a very sunny 250 square foot room wants about 6,600 BTU (6,000 × 1.10). A 6,000 that never cycles off is usually telling you the room is more than it can carry. Check the sun and the square footage before you blame the thermostat.
Unit | Room (maker) | CEER | Airflow (maker) | Window / opening | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Midea EasyCool MAW06R1CWT (this one) | 250 sq ft | 11.0 | 168.82 CFM (listing) | 23-36 in / 14 in listing, 13 in manual | 1 yr parts and labor (listing) |
Frigidaire FHWC063TC1 | 250 sq ft | 11.0 | 210-265 CFM | 23-36 in / 13 in | 1 yr functional repairs |
Frigidaire FFRA051WAE 5,000 | 150 sq ft | 11.0 | 110-140 CFM | 23-36 in / 13 in | 1 yr functional repairs |
Midea U 6,000 (MAW06V1UWT) | 250 sq ft | 15.1 | No figure | 22-36 in / 13.75 in | 2 yr (listing) |
- Great fit: a 150 to 250 square foot bedroom or office with an ordinary double-hung window, a fixed budget and a tolerance for compressor noise.
- Off-grid or backup power: auto restart and a three minute compressor delay make it friendlier to an inverter on a timer than units that stay off after power drops.
- Pick the Frigidaire: if the prices are within a few dollars; it publishes amps, noise at every speed and more airflow.
- Pick the Midea U: for a light sleeper. It is the quiet Midea, it costs more, and the 6,000 BTU U was never part of the recall.
- Pick something with heat: if the room needs spring and fall warmth; the EasyCool cools, dehumidifies and circulates, and nothing else.
Energy Saver, sleep and the thermostat
Expect Energy Saver to be on. The manual says it switches itself on in Cool, Dry and Auto whenever you turn the unit off and back on. With it on, the compressor stops at the set point, the fan runs three more minutes, then comes on for two minutes every ten minutes to sample the room. That is almost word for word how Frigidaire's manual describes its own Eco mode. Turn it off with the Energy Saver button if the stop-start fan bothers you.
Sleep mode raises the set point 2°F after 30 minutes and another 2°F after an hour, then holds for seven hours. Dry mode runs the fan on low and still cools somewhat. In Fan mode the display shows the room temperature, which is a handy way to check the room against the set point. The manual mentions a Comfort Sense remote that acts as the thermostat on some models; Midea's listing doesn't say this one has it, so don't count on it.
Installing it right
Tilt it more than you think. Midea's manual wants the finished unit tilted back about 3/4 to 1 inch at the cabinet edge, roughly 3 to 4 degrees toward the outside, and says condensate shouldn't come out of the overflow hole in normal use. If it does, fix the slope. The top rail and side panels are built with a 5/16 inch pitch; keep it even if you leave a panel off.
- Window: double-hung, 23 to 36 inches wide. Measure the opening for 14 inches to satisfy the listing.
- Outdoors only: the rear must be outside, not in a garage or enclosed porch, with clear air around the side louvers.
- Storm windows: if the storm frame stays, keep its drain holes clear of caulk and paint.
- People: Midea recommends two installers. It says product failure from improper installation is not covered under the limited warranty, so follow the manual.
- Power: a grounded outlet with nothing else on it, no extension cord, and press RESET on the plug after you plug in. The maximum current is on the nameplate.
- Conditions: Midea rates cooling for 64 to 109°F outdoors and 62 to 90°F indoors, and warns that room humidity above 80% puts condensation on the cabinet.
The recall question and reliability
If you owned a recalled Midea U, you're not alone in asking whether the box units share the problem. The CPSC recall names U and U+ model numbers only, and the EasyCool is a different, conventional chassis. Like every box unit, it keeps water in the base pan for the fan to sling onto the outdoor coil, so it can grow mold if you neglect it. Run the fan for a while before you shut it down for the season and store it dry.
There isn't much owner history under this exact model number, so we're leaning on the specs. The clearest owner report is good: an off-grid owner chose it for auto restart and runs it from an inverter on a timer. The clearest complaint is a sibling YWT-S unit that cycled normally on day one and then ran until switched off. Midea's listing gives one year of parts and labor; keep the receipt and test it hard while you can still return it.
How it compares
- Frigidaire FHWC063TC1: same size, same CEER and same label cost, with a fuller spec sheet: 5.1 A, 52 to 57 dBA and 265 CFM on high, and a firm 13 inch opening. Our pick when the prices match.
- Frigidaire FFRA051WAE: the knob unit for rooms under 150 square feet. Cheaper, two speeds, no remote.
- Midea U 6,000: the inverter upgrade at CEER 15.1. At the label's assumptions it saves about $14 a year (53 × 11.0 ÷ 15.1 = 38.6), so buy it for quiet, not the bill.
- Midea 8,000 with Heat: for a bigger room that wants shoulder-season heat: a heat pump at CEER 14.5 that heats down to 41°F outside.
Bottom of the budget, done right
Buy the EasyCool when it's the cheaper of the two budget 6,000s, for a room of 250 square feet or less without heavy afternoon sun. Turn off Energy Saver if the fan surges annoy you, give it the full 3 to 4 degree tilt, and keep it on its own outlet. If the Frigidaire costs the same, buy the Frigidaire; if you sleep lightly, save for the Midea U.
Score breakdown
It cools a room of 150 to 250 square feet with a digital thermostat, three speeds and a remote. CEER 11.0 was the legal floor until May 2026, 52 dB on low is the only noise figure Midea gives, and the listing's 168.82 CFM trails the Frigidaire's 265. Energy Saver cycles the fan with the compressor, so the room drifts.
A simple single-speed box unit, and not part of the Midea U recall. Owner history under this model number is thin: an off-grid owner relies on its auto restart, and a sibling unit stopped cycling off after its first day. Midea's listing gives one year of parts and labor, and its manual excludes failures from improper installation.
Sold by Amazon and priced alongside the Frigidaire FHWC063TC1, which gives you a fuller spec sheet for the same money. An inverter saves about $14 a year at the label's assumptions, so the cheap unit holds up on running cost unless you need the quiet.
Midea EasyCool 6,000 BTU Window AC on Amazon.
The Evidence Behind Our Verdict
Owner reports come from r/AirConditioners, plus one DIY Solar Forum owner who names the MAW06R1CWT and runs it off-grid for its auto restart (described in the text). Discussion under this exact model number is thin. One Reddit owner of the MAW06R1YWT-S sibling saw it stop cycling off after day one.
Owners of other Midea box units, models not stated, also weigh in on the U recall.
Our rating above is our own editorial call. What follows is the field evidence we weighed to reach it: first-hand reports from owners on Reddit and independent HVAC and DIY forums, which we lean on more than manufacturer-influenced published reviews because unsponsored owners tend to be the more candid signal.
What Reddit Is Saying
“not on the list i saw. just bought one fist day running it i like it”
“It auto shut-off and kicked on fine Monday when I set it up, but now it just runs until I turn it off myself.”
Frequently asked questions
Is the Midea EasyCool 6,000 BTU Window AC worth it?
Sold by Amazon and priced alongside the Frigidaire FHWC063TC1, which gives you a fuller spec sheet for the same money. An inverter saves about $14 a year at the label's assumptions, so the cheap unit holds up on running cost unless you need the quiet.
How reliable is the Midea EasyCool 6,000 BTU Window AC?
A simple single-speed box unit, and not part of the Midea U recall. Owner history under this model number is thin: an off-grid owner relies on its auto restart, and a sibling unit stopped cycling off after its first day. Midea's listing gives one year of parts and labor, and its manual excludes failures from improper installation.
How well does the Midea EasyCool 6,000 BTU Window AC perform?
It cools a room of 150 to 250 square feet with a digital thermostat, three speeds and a remote. 82 CFM trails the Frigidaire's 265. Energy Saver cycles the fan with the compressor, so the room drifts.
What do real owners say about the Midea EasyCool 6,000 BTU Window AC?
Owner reports come from r/AirConditioners, plus one DIY Solar Forum owner who names the MAW06R1CWT and runs it off-grid for its auto restart (described in the text). Discussion under this exact model number is thin. One Reddit owner of the MAW06R1YWT-S sibling saw it stop cycling off after day one.
Options Worth Checking Out

Frigidaire 6,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote (FHWC063TC1)
The near twin we prefer at the same price: CEER 11.0, $53 a year on its label, but with 265 CFM on high, published amps and noise at every speed, and a 13 in opening. One year of functional repairs; transferred units excluded.
Read our full review: we scored it 6.5/10

Frigidaire 5,000 BTU Window-Mounted Air Conditioner (FFRA051WAE)
For a room under 150 sq ft and the smallest budget: knob controls, two fan speeds, CEER 11.0 and the same 23-36 in window range with a 13 in opening. No remote and no temperature readout, so you set it by feel.
Read our full review: we scored it 6.3/10

Midea 8,000 BTU Smart Inverter Window AC with Heat (MAW08HV1CWT)
For a larger room that also wants spring and fall heat: an inverter heat pump at CEER 14.5, rated to 350 sq ft. Heat shuts off below 41°F outside, and it needs a 14.5 in opening and two people to lift it.
Read our full review: we scored it 6.9/10
More Midea Reviews
See all →How Does It Compare?
Side-by-side breakdowns featuring this product









